3. September 2020 - Providentia editors

Providentia++: The four greatest challenges

The technical infrastructure is in place. Radars and cameras are in operation; a digital twin has been developed. But some steps toward practical application remain to be taken. Here are the most important challenges.

The digital twin created by Providentia researchers on behalf of the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) will soon be used as a prototype in der Providentia++ project. But first, the sensor technology must be readjusted, all possible environmental conditions must be mastered, and easy-to-use, modular systems must be created. Only when the following hurdles have been cleared will the digital twin be put into practice and produce reliable, usable results.

  1. Make algorithms more reliable

Even in rain, snow, or bumper-to-bumper traffic, sensor information must be processed correctly. It is also important that as many sensor sources as possible are used for the digital twin: not only the sensors on the overhead highway signs, but also those in vehicles. Only then can appropriate conclusions be drawn from a given traffic situation.

  1. Control vehicles globally

To enable early reactions to unpredictable situations, all available sensor data – from various vehicles and the sensor stations – must be merged into one system. To achieve this, vehicles and infrastructure must be in harmony; the calibration of sensor sets must be coordinated; and exchange formats must be developed to feed information about the current traffic situation back to the vehicle. Successfully creating a unified “environment model” is an important step in the direction of autonomous driving. The following services will then be possible: (1) In the event of technical problems, the autonomous vehicle will automatically and safely leave traffic. (2) A vehicle can be controlled remotely if there are traffic situations that the vehicle cannot handle itself. (3) Changing lanes, passing, or clearing a path for emergency vehicles: Various predictions for sensible maneuvers can be coordinated. (4) The vehicle’s own driving functions can be checked and improved via the digital twin.

  1. Create capacity for computers

Standard distributed computer systems are not sufficient for intelligent infrastructure systems. They must be highly available – in other words, they must be available virtually all the time. There are various ways of ensuring this: (1) Applications are outsourced to the “mobile  with data being analyzed where it is generated. (2) Even if the wireless connection fails, this cannot cause the computer to crash. (3) The processing load between vehicles and infrastructure should be dynamically distributed. (4) The behavior of the hardware components must be predictable to ensure the security of the infrastructure. (5) Sufficient resources must be available for each user of the infrastructure. The special challenge: Corresponding algorithms will be developed in connection with 5G technology for the first time within the framework of Providentia++.

  1. Plug and play systems

Sensor sets that are coordinated with each other; customized and clearly defined hardware and software; pre-calculations of data streams directly at the sensor; and algorithms for sensor self-configuration: These are some of the approaches that will lead to new systems on roads and highways being developed as effortlessly as possible. Corresponding infrastructure systems provide the basis for digital platforms through which new services can be offered.

FURTHER CURRENT TOPICS

6. August 2021

Expanding the A9 test field: Improvisation required

Expanding the A9 test section for autonomous and connected driving required a great deal of research and pragmatic decision-making. Now that it has been accomplished and the scientists are at work, we look back at eight challenges and their solutions.

MORE >

6. August 2021

Connected car services with great potential

Vehicle connectivity and automation is becoming increasingly important in the automotive industry. Particularly high growth potential is expected for connected car services, according to a recent study by IW Consult and Fraunhofer IAO.

MORE >

31. July 2021

Predicting movements by autonomous agents

To predict movements, many trajectory options must be taken into consideration and prioritized. The FloMo model works with probabilities and has been trained on the basis of three datasets. Its performance is improved by a proposed method of stabilizing training flows.

MORE >

3. September 2020 - Redaktion Providentia

Providentia++: Die vier größten Herausforderungen

Die technische Infrastruktur steht. Radare und Kameras sind im Einsatz, ein digitaler Zwilling ist entwickelt. Doch fehlen noch einige Schritte auf dem Weg in die Praxis. Hier die wichtigsten Herausforderungen.

Der digitale Zwilling, den Providentia-Forscher im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) geschaffen haben, steht unmittelbar davor, als Prototyp zum Einsatz zu kommen. Doch heißt das auch, dass die Sensorik noch nachjustiert, alle denkbaren Umweltbedingungen gemeistert und einfach einsetzbare und modulare Systeme geschaffen werden müssen. Erst wenn die folgenden Hürden genommen sind, wird der digitale Zwilling in die Praxis gehen und zuverlässige und verwertbare Ergebnisse bringen.

1. Algorithmen verlässlicher machen

Selbst bei Regen, Schnee oder dicht aufeinander auffahrenden Fahrzeugen müssen Sensorinformationen richtig verarbeitet werden. Zudem ist es wichtig, dass möglichst alle Sensorquellen für den digitalen Zwilling eingesetzt werden, dazu gehört neben den Sensoren an den Schilderbrücken auch die Sensorik im Fahrzeug. Nur so können auch die richtigen Schlüsse aus der jeweiligen Verkehrssituation geschlossen werden.

2. Fahrzeuge global steuern

Für die frühzeitige Reaktion auf unvorhersehbare Situationen müssen alle verfügbaren Sensordaten in einem System zusammengeführt werden – also die Informationen aus diversen Fahrzeugen und den Sensorstationen. Dafür müssen Fahrzeuge und Infrastruktur miteinander harmonieren, die Kalibrierung der Sensorsets koordiniert und Austauschformate entwickelt werden, über die dem Fahrzeug die Information über die aktuelle Verkehrssituation zurückgespielt wird. Gelingt es, ein einheitliches „Umgebungsmodell“ zu schaffen, ist ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung autonomes Fahren getan. Denn folgende Services sind dann möglich: Gibt es technische Probleme, schert das autonome Fahrzeug selbstgesteuert und sicher aus dem Verkehr aus (1.). Ein Fahrzeug kann aus der Ferne (remote) gesteuert werden, sollte es Verkehrssituationen geben, mit denen das Fahrzeug nicht umgehen kann (2.). Spur wechseln, überholen, Rettungsgasse bilden: Diverse Vorhersagen für sinnvolle Manöver werden koordinierbar (3.). Die eigenen Fahrfunktionen können über den digitalen Zwilling überprüft und verbessert werden (4.).

3. Kapazität für Rechner schaffen

Klassische verteilte Rechnersysteme reichen für intelligente Infrastruktursysteme nicht aus. Denn sie müssen hochverfügbar sein, also quasi immer zur Verfügung stehen. Um das zu gewährleisten, gibt es verschiedene Ansätze: Anwendungen werden in die „Mobile-EDGE“ ausgelagert. Daten werden also dort analysiert, wo sie entstehen (1.). Auch wenn die drahtlose Verbindung ausfällt, darf dies Rechner nicht zum Absturz bringen (2.). Die Rechenlast zwischen Fahrzeugen und Infrastruktur sollte sich dynamisch verteilen lassen (3.). Das Verhalten der Hardwarekomponenten muss vorhersagbar sein, um die Sicherheit der Infrastruktur zu gewährleisten (4.). Es müssen für jeden Nutzer der Infrastruktur ausreichend Ressourcen zur Verfügung stehen (5.). Die besondere Herausforderung: Gerade in Verbindung mit der Funktechnologie 5G werden entsprechende Algorithmen im Rahmen von Providentia++ erstmals entwickelt.

4. „Plug and Play” der eingesetzten Systeme

Sensorsets, die aufeinander abgestimmt sind, maßgeschneiderte und klar definierte Hard- und Software, Vorberechnungen der Datenströme direkt am Sensor und Algorithmen zur Selbstkonfiguration der Sensoren sind einige der Vorhaben, die mit dazu führen sollen, dass neue Systeme an Straßen und Autobahnen mit möglichst geringem Aufwand entstehen können. Entsprechende Infrastruktursysteme bieten die Basis für digitale Plattformen, über die neue Services angeboten werden können.

WEITERE AKTUELLE THEMEN

26. November 2020

Stadt, Land, Autobahn: ACCorD startet mit drei neuen Testfeldern in 2021

Im Frühjahr 2021 kommen die ersten Sensorstationen des ACCorD-Projektes zum Einsatz. Forschungsfelder des Instituts für Kraftfahrzeuge der RWTH Aachen befinden sich in der Stadt, auf dem Land und auf der Autobahn.

MEHR >

19. November 2020

Trendone: 5 Techniktrends – und wie Providentia++ sie nutzt

Maschinelles Lernen, Internet der Dinge und vorausschauende Analyse als Top-Trends, Automation als einer der Megatrends und autonomes Fahren kurz vor dem Sprung: Trendforscher Trendone hat sich die technologischen Trends angesehen.

MEHR >

17. November 2020

Der Verkehr der Zukunft – Abendschau des BR

Vernetztes und automatisiertes Fahren im Verkehr der Zukunft: In der Themenwoche unter dem Motto „Wie wollen wir leben?“ stellen Prof. Alois Knoll und Berater Markus Bonk der BR in der Abendschau den Ansatz von Providentia++ vor.

MEHR >