NEWS

12. April 2021

Highly automated vehicles: How drivers react to them

he more highly automated vehicles are on the road, the more slowly human drivers will drive as well. Drivers need to learn how to deal appropriately with highly automated vehicles.

MORE >

12. March 2021

Many sensors, one digital twin: How does it work?

In the coming months, the number of sensors in the Providentia++ project will more than triple. To fuse the data from cameras, radars, and lidars, scientists work with probabilities and evaluation pipelines. Questions for Leah Strand from the TU Munich.

MORE >

26. February 2021

Agora Verkehrswende: Does connected driving save energy?

How does connected and automated driving affect vehicles’ net energy consumption? Marena Pützschler, specialist for new mobility and automated driving at Agora Verkehrswende, has studied this question. She tells us about it here.

MORE >

What does Providentia stand for?

Providentia is a research project that has been funded by the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) since early 2017. Since early 2020, it has been continued under the name Providentia++ with the Chair of Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and Real-time Systems at the Technical University of Munich’s Department of Informatics serving as consortium leader. The project’s goal is to research the flow of information between vehicles and infrastructure along the A9 highway extending into the urban area, to create a digital twin of the current traffic situation, and from this to develop value-added services.

What research papers have already been published?

August 13,2020

C-V2X: Architecture for deployment in moving network convoys

Reliable V2X communication is crucial for the development of cooperative intelligent transportation systems (ITS) – and for improving traffic safety and efficiency. A research topic of Providentia++: The approach of moving network convoys.

MORE >

August 27,2020

Auto-calibration of radars and cameras for ITS

Most intelligent transportation systems use a combination of radar sensors and cameras for the vehicle perception. Auto-calibration of these types of sensors is complex. This publication proposes a data-driven method based on neural networks.

MORE >

August 20,2020

Providentia: Validation of intelligent infrastructure systems

How can aerial image analysis be used to validate intelligent infrastructure systems, and how can this benefit automated vehicles? These questions are the focus of this scientific publication, which takes the Providentia system as an example.

MORE >

TECHNOLOGY

Displaying traffic digitally, recognizing vehicles, and transmitting data in real time: These are three of the tasks in store for the technologies. A key role is played by sensors, perception (with object recognition and tracking, as well as data fusion), and 5G wireless technology. In addition to these basic technologies, several other tools serve the visual representation and integration of data, such as the open-source simulator CARLA and the middleware and library framework ROS.

MORE >

VALUE-ADDED SERVICES

Whether digital information stems from radar, lidar, or camera systems: The position and speed of trucks, cars, and motorcycles are stored in the digital twin and can be anonymously retrieved and analyzed at any time. Service development is not about monitoring individuals, but rather about analyzing the overall situation, in which many vehicles and the stationary systems along the road communicate with each other and exchange data. New services, application scenarios, and business models are already being planned. Drivers, highway operators, scientists, and car manufacturers all stand to benefit equally from these services in the future.

MORE >

RESEARCH AREAS

Reducing huge amounts of data to a manageable size, sending them to the digital twin in real time, and recognizing objects even in the rain or at night: These are among the challenges the researchers in the Providentia++ team are addressing. Research into object recognition, data fusion, communication technology, and the reliability of the overall system are at the heart of Providentia++.

MORE >

CHALLENGES

The technical infrastructure is in place. Radars and cameras are in operation; a digital twin has been developed. But some steps toward practical application remain to be taken. The digital twin created by Providentia researchers on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) will soon be used as a prototype in the Providentia++project. But first, the sensor technology must be readjusted, all possible environmental conditions must be mastered, and easy-to-use, modular systems must be created. Only when these hurdles have been cleared will the digital twin be put into practice and produce reliable, usable results.

MORE >

The future

“A development toward autonomous vehicles can take place very quickly. That’s how it happened with the Internet. First, two computers were networked together. Decades later came the World Wide Web, and today innovations and new services are created every second.

Professor Dr.-Ing. Alois Knoll

Chair of Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and Real-time Systems

Department of Informatics, TU Munich

Head of Providentia++

“A development toward autonomous vehicles can take place very quickly. That’s how it happened with the Internet. First, two computers were networked together. Decades later came the World Wide Web, and today innovations and new services are created every second.

Professor Dr.-Ing. Alois Knoll

Chair of Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and Real-time Systems

Department of Informatics, TU Munich

Head of Providentia++

PARTNERS

 

(consortium leader)

load more
load more

ASSOCIATED PARTNERS

load more

FUNDING

load more

PROJECT SPONSOR

load more

ITS Weltkongreß: Warum die klassische Robotik die Kinderstube des autonomen Fahrens ist

SIE FINDEN DAS TUM-TEAM AUF DEM ITS WELTKONGREß IN HALLE B4.141

AKTUELLES

6. Oktober 2021

ITS Weltkongreß: Eine Branche auf dem Weg zum City Brain

Interne oder externe Intelligenz? Welcher Ansatz macht beim vernetzten Fahren das Rennen. 3 Fragen an Prof. Alois Knoll.

MEHR >

25. August 2021

CARLA: Was der meistgenutzte Fahrsimulator kann

Mit der neuen Simulationssoftware CARLA lassen sich Szenarien durchspielen und der Verkehr analysieren. Fragen an den Wissenschaftler Walter Zimmer.

MEHR >

18. August 2021

Automobilindustrie: Künstliche Intelligenz als differenzierender Faktor

Connected Services und Autonomes Fahren sind zwei der Trends, die die Automobilindustrie in den nächsten Jahren prägen werden. Michael Nolting hat sich in seinem Buch angeschaut, warum KI der wettbewerbsentscheidende Faktor werden wird.

MEHR >

Wofür steht Providentia?

Providentia ist ein Forschungsprojekt, das seit Anfang 2017 vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) gefördert und seit Anfang 2020 vom Lehrstuhl für Robotik, künstliche Intelligenz und Echtzeitsysteme am Institut für Informatik der Technischen Universität München als Konsortialführer unter dem Namen Providentia++ fortgesetzt wird. Dessen Ziel besteht darin, Informationsflüsse zwischen Fahrzeugen und „Infrastruktur“ am Rande der Autobahn A9 bis hinein in den urbanen Bereich zu erforschen, einen digitalen Zwilling der aktuellen Verkehrssituation zu schaffen und daraus Mehrwertdienste zu entwickeln.

Welche Forschungsarbeiten wurden bereits veröffentlicht?

2. August 2021

Mit autonomen Agenten Bewegungen vorhersagen

Um Bewegungen vorhersagen zu können, ist es nötig, viele Optionen (Trajektorien) in Erwägung zu ziehen und sie zu priorisieren. Das Modell FloMo arbeitet mit Wahrscheinlichkeiten und ist auf Basis von drei Datasets trainiert worden.

MEHR >

13. August 2020

C-V2X: Architektur für den Einsatz in bewegten Kolonnen

Zuverlässige V2X-Kommunikation ist in der Entwicklung intelligenter Transportsysteme entscheidend. Das Netzwerk-Infrastruktur-Management und Radio-Ressourcen müssen jedoch in großem Maßstab realisierbar und bezahlbar sein.

MEHR >

27. August 2020

Autokalibrierung von Radaren und Kameras für ITS

Die meisten intelligenten Transportsysteme (ITS) nutzen eine Kombination von Radarsensoren und Kameras in der Fahrzeugperzeption. Deren automatische Kalibrierung ist komplex. Ein Forschungsansatz mit neuronalen Netzen.

MEHR >

TECHNOLOGIE

Den Verkehr digital darstellen, Fahrzeuge erkennen und Daten in Echtzeit übermitteln: Das sind drei der Aufgaben, die den eingesetzten Technologien zukommen. Eine Schlüsselrolle spielen Sensoren, die Perzeption (mit der Objekterkennung, -verfolgung und Datenfusion) und die Funktechnologie 5G. Zu diesen Grundtechnologien kommen mehrere Tools hinzu, die der visuellen Darstellung und Integration von Daten dienen, wie der Open-Source-Simulator CARLA und das Middleware- und Library-Framework ROS.

MEHR >

MEHRWERTDIENSTE

Ob digitale Informationen aus Radar-, Lidar- oder Kamerasystemen: Position und Tempo von Lkws, Pkws und Motorrädern sind im digitalen Zwilling gespeichert – jederzeit anonymisiert abrufbar und analysierbar. Nicht die Überwachung des Einzelnen steht bei der Entwicklung von Services im Vordergrund, sondern viel mehr die Analyse der Gesamtsituation, in der viele Fahrzeuge und die fixierten Systeme am Autobahnrand miteinander korrespondieren und Daten untereinander austauschen. Neue Services, Anwendungsszenarien und Geschäftsmodelle sind bereits in Planung. Autofahrer, Autobahnbetreiber, Wissenschaftler und Autohersteller sollen künftig gleichermaßen davon profitieren.

MEHR >

FORSCHUNGSBEREICHE

Gigantische Datenmengen auf ein handhabbares Maß reduzieren, den digitalen Zwilling in Echtzeit zukommen lassen und selbst bei Regen oder in der Nacht Objekte erkennen: Das sind einige der Herausforderungen, denen sich die Forscher im Providentia++-Team widmen. Forschungen zur Objekterkennung, Datenfusion, Kommunikations- technologie und Zuverlässigkeit des Gesamtsystems stehen im Mittelpunkt von Providentia++.

MEHR >

HERAUSFORDERUNGEN

Die technische Infrastruktur steht. Radare und Kameras sind im Einsatz, ein digitaler Zwilling ist entwickelt. Doch fehlen noch einige Schritte auf dem Weg in die Praxis. Der digitale Zwilling, den Providentia-Forscher im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) geschaffen haben, steht unmittelbar davor, als Prototyp zum Einsatz zu kommen. Doch heißt das auch, dass die Sensorik noch nachjustiert, alle denkbaren Umweltbedingungen gemeistert und einfach einsetzbare und modulare Systeme geschaffen werden müssen. Erst wenn die folgenden Hürden genommen sind, wird der digitale Zwilling in die Praxis gehen und zuverlässige und verwertbare Ergebnisse liefern.

MEHR >

Die Zukunft

„Eine Entwicklung hin zu autonomen Fahrzeugen kann auf einmal sehr schnell gehen. So war es ja auch mit dem Internet. Erst wurden zwei Rechner miteinander vernetzt, Jahrzehnte später kam das World Wide Web, heute entstehen Innovationen und neue Dienstleistungen im Sekundentakt.“

Professor Dr.-Ing. Alois Knoll

Lehrstuhl für Robotik, künstliche Intelligenz und Echtzeitsysteme

Institut für Informatik, TU München

Leiter des Konsortiums Providentia++

„Eine Entwicklung hin zu autonomen Fahrzeugen kann auf einmal sehr schnell gehen. So war es ja auch mit dem Internet. Erst wurden zwei Rechner miteinander vernetzt, Jahrzehnte später kam das World Wide Web, heute entstehen Innovationen und neue Dienstleistungen im Sekundentakt.“

Professor Dr.-Ing. Alois Knoll

Lehrstuhl für Robotik, künstliche Intelligenz und Echtzeitsysteme

Institut für Informatik, TU München

Leiter des Konsortiums Providentia++

PARTNER

 

(Konsortialführer)

Mehr laden
Mehr laden

ASSOZIERTE PARTNER

Mehr laden

FÖRDERER

Mehr laden

PROJEKTTRÄGER

Mehr laden