19. November 2020 - Providentia editors

Trendone: 5 technology trends – and how Providentia++ uses them

Machine learning, the Internet of Things, and predictive analytics as top cross-industry trends; automation as one of the mega-trends; and autonomous driving about to take off: Trend researcher Trendone has looked at technology trends. Here’s how they are already being used in Providentia++.

1. IoT, ML, and predictive analytics: Three technologies used by nearly every industry

According to the Trendone researchers, machine learning, predictive analytics, and the Internet of Things belong to the top technologies that are on the verge of a breakthrough across all industries, with mainstream adoption expected in two to four years. Trendone looked at various industries and found that these technologies are among the most relevant.

For use in modern connected traffic scenarios such as Providentia++, sensor data is collected via the Internet of Things, objects are identified with neural networks (artificial intelligence), and machine learning is employed to recognize patterns in traffic behavior.

2. Digital twins are especially important for transportation and mobility

In the transportation and mobility industry, the digital twin is among the top three trends. Vehicles and vehicle production are simulated in digital twins. In an estimated three to five years, this will enable added value from the design to the use phase.

Providentia++ uses the mapping of a physical state as a digital twin to represent a traffic situation. To accomplish this, sensor data is analyzed, fused, and displayed in a digital twin.

3. Automation: Technology makes more and more of its own decisions

Automation belongs to the six mega-trends. It is determined by technologies and developments such as autonomous mobility, collaborative robots (cobots), empathetic technology (emotionally intelligent systems), 3D printing, and machine learning.

Research from Providentia++ improves assistance systems in modern vehicles. The external data is used to verify the sensor system of the vehicle itself and to make automated and autonomous driving safe.

4. Automation and autonomy: Vehicles themselves take on more functionalities

Autonomous vehicles “will turn our understanding of mobility completely upside down over the next few years,” according to Trendone. Radar, lidar, and camera systems already scan the environment better than humans are able to. And artificial intelligence will contribute to humans being replaced as drivers in the next six to eight years. The importance of this development is rated quite high, at 4.0 on a scale of 0 to 6.

External sensor stations from Providentia++ validate the sensors on board connected vehicles. Thus, they create the preconditions necessary to make driving safer and more predictable – and, in the long term, to make autonomous driving possible.

5. Data creates the basis for intelligent decisions

Technologies of the data era in particular, such as the Internet of Things, open data, and predictive analytics, are on the brink of becoming mainstream.

The more data is available, the more object recognition will improve, leading to better prediction of dangerous traffic situations.

Find the complete Trend Radar Study 2020 from Trendone GmbH here.

WEITERE AKTUELLE THEMEN

12. April 2021

Highly automated vehicles: How drivers react to them

he more highly automated vehicles are on the road, the more slowly human drivers will drive as well. Drivers need to learn how to deal appropriately with highly automated vehicles.

MORE >

12. March 2021

Many sensors, one digital twin: How does it work?

In the coming months, the number of sensors in the Providentia++ project will more than triple. To fuse the data from cameras, radars, and lidars, scientists work with probabilities and evaluation pipelines. Questions for Leah Strand from the TU Munich.

MORE >

26. February 2021

Agora Verkehrswende: Does connected driving save energy?

How does connected and automated driving affect vehicles’ net energy consumption? Marena Pützschler, specialist for new mobility and automated driving at Agora Verkehrswende, has studied this question. She tells us about it here.

MORE >

19. November 2020 - Redaktion Providentia

Trendone: 5 Techniktrends – und wie Providentia++ sie nutzt

Maschinelles Lernen, Internet der Dinge und vorausschauende Analyse als branchenübergreifende Top-Trends, Automation als einer der Megatrends und autonomes Fahren kurz vor dem Sprung: Trendforscher Trendone hat sich die technologischen Trends angesehen. Wir zeigen Ihnen, inwieweit sie in Providentia++ bereits zum Einsatz kommen.

1. IoT, ML und Predictive Analytics: Drei Technologien nutzen fast allen Branchen

Maschinelles Lernen, vorausschauende Analyse und Internet der Dinge gehören laut Trendradar von Trendforscher Trendone zu den Technologien, die über alle Branchen hinweg zu den Top-Technologien gehören, die kurz vor dem Durchbruch stehen – vor der „Mainstream-Adoption“ in etwa zwei bis vier Jahren. Trendone hat sich diverse Branchen angesehen: Es zeigt sich, dass diese Technologien meist mit zu den relevantesten gehören.

Für den Einsatz in modernen Vernetzungsszenarien im Verkehr wie Providentia++ werden Sensordaten per Internet der Dinge gesammelt, Objekte mithilfe neuronaler Netze (künstliche Intelligenz) erkannt und maschinelles Lernen dafür eigesetzt, Muster im Verkehrsverhalten zu erkennen.

2. Digitale Zwillinge besonders bedeutend für Transport und Mobilität

In der Branche Transport und Mobilität kommt zu den drei Top-Trends der digitale Zwilling hinzu. Fahrzeuge und die Produktion von Fahrzeugen werden in digitalen Zwillingen simuliert. In etwa drei bis fünf Jahren werden dadurch Mehrwerte von der Entwurfs- bis zur Nutzungsphase möglich.

Die Abbildung eines physischen Zustands als digitalem Zwilling setzt Providentia++ ein, um eine Verkehrssituation abzubilden. Dafür werden Sensordaten ausgewertet, fusioniert und in einem digitalen Zwilling dargestellt.

3. Automation: Technologie entscheidet immer mehr selbst

Die Automation gehört zu den sechs Megatrends. Sie wird durch Technologien und Entwicklungen wie autonome Mobilität, kollaborative Roboter (Cobots), empathische Technologie (Emotional Intelligent Systems), 3-D-Druck und maschinelles Lernen bestimmt.

Forschungen in Providentia++ dienen dazu, Assistenzsysteme in modernen Fahrzeugen zu verbessern. Die externen Daten dienen dazu, die Sensorik eines Fahrzeugs zu überprüfen und automatisiertes und autonomes Fahren sicher zu machen.   

4. Automatisierung und Autonomie: Fahrzeuge übernehmen mehr Funktionalitäten selbst

Autonome Fahrzeuge „werden das Verständnis von Mobilität in den nächsten Jahren grundlegend auf den Kopf stellen“, so Trendone. Radar-, Lidar- und Kamerasysteme scannen die Umgebung heute schon besser als Menschen. Und künstliche Intelligenz wird mit dazu beitragen, dass Menschen innerhalb der nächsten sechs bis acht Jahre als Fahrer abgelöst werden. Die Bedeutung wird jedoch auf einer Skala von 0 bis 6 mit 4,0 recht hoch eingeschätzt.

Externe Sensorstationen von Providentia++ validieren Sensoren an Bord eines vernetzten Fahrzeugs. So schaffen sie die Voraussetzung dafür, dass Autofahren sicherer und vorhersagbarer wird – und autonomes Fahren langfristig möglich.

5. Daten schaffen Grundlage für intelligente Entscheidungen

Besonders Technologien der „Data Era“ mit dem Internet der Dinge, Open Data und vorausschauenden Analysen sind bereits kurz davor, zum Mainstream zu werden.

Je mehr Daten zur Verfügung stehen, umso besser wird die Objekterkennung und die Vorhersage von brenzligen Verkehrssituationen.

Die gesamte Trendradar Studie 2020 von Trendone GmbH finden Sie hier.

WEITERE AKTUELLE THEMEN

11. Mai 2021

So entsteht ein Algorithmus für die Stabilisierung von Kamerabildern

Wenn eine Schilderbrücke durch Wind hin und her schwankt, bewegen sich die Kameras mit. Algorithmen verhindern, dass Messfehler auftreten.

MEHR >

6. Mai 2021

Autonome Konzepte zerlegen klassischen Automarkt

Der Co-Autor des Buchs „Die autonome Revolution“ Andreas Herrmann erläutert, warum sich der Markt für autonome Fahrzeuge in zwei Teile spalten wird, People Mover und Privatfahrzeuge – und welche Herangehensweisen Erfolg versprechen.

MEHR >

21. April 2021

Verkehr: Digitalisieren wie ein Echtzeitunternehmen

Umso digitalisierter der Verkehr, umso besser lassen sich Unfälle verhindern und Staus verhindern. In Unternehmen sind Echtzeitentscheidungen längst etabliert.

MEHR >